Types of plan members

Regardless of occupation, there are four types of plan members: active, retired, inactive and limited. Learn what this means.

The four types of plan members are:

  • Active
  • Inactive
  • Retired
  • Limited

You are an active member while you are:

  • Contributing to the WorkSafeBC Pension Plan
  • On a leave of absence
  • Receiving benefits from an approved long-term disability plan

You are an inactive member if you are no longer working for WorkSafeBC and decide to leave your contributions in the WorkSafeBC Pension Plan.

You are a retired member when you retire and begin collecting your WorkSafeBC pension. If you are receiving a survivor's pension, you are considered a retired member.

If you are a former spouse of a plan member and are entitled to a portion of the plan member's pension, you can apply to become a limited member after your separation or divorce. As a limited member, you can receive a portion of your former spouse's pension when your former spouse reaches their earliest retirement age.